Diary of Unknown Symptoms

Mystery of the Internal Vibration

Entry for March 07, 2008

I’m still having issues with my cold hands that I can’t really seem to solve. One day I take something and it appears to work, then I try the same thing again and it doesn’t work.

Today I have the cold hands again and again Lecithin seems to help right after I take it. It can’t be a problem with lecithin because taking lecithin would’ve solved the problem weeks ago right?

Back to the drawing board…

August 22, 2009 Posted by | Health | , | Leave a comment

Entry for March 06, 2008

The past couple of days I’ve had itchy watering eyes. Today I tried taking some Sam-e and that seemed to help. I stopped taking it a while back because as usual, I moved on to something else.

August 22, 2009 Posted by | Health | , | Leave a comment

Entry for March 03, 2008

While I was at work today I overheard a conversation about someone having chest pains and that all the test results came back normal so the doctor suggested it was probably just heartburn.

After I thought about it for a while I started to wonder if my weird chest pain was heartburn too? Possibly being caused by the high intake of vitamin C?

August 22, 2009 Posted by | Health | , , | Leave a comment

Entry for March 03, 2008

Weird feeling on the way into work and once again it was fixed by taking calcium/magnesium. Is my potassium still too high??? I wonder if calcium actually lowers the potassium or just prevents it from going higher?

In addition to medical situations that can lead to hyperkalemia, cellular potassium covers aspects of bladder functions, as well as right-sided ovarian and testicular properties. Cellular zinc covers aspects of prostate / uterine functions, and left-sided ovarian and testicular properties. Elevated potassium is invariably found with acute or chronic Cystitis (bladder infections) or right-sided Ovarian cysts (but not dermoid or chocolate cysts), whereby right-sided ovarian and/or testicular Cancer will always result in excessively high potassium levels, which can also serve as a high risk indicator to be suggestive of a pelvic scan.

Interesting how high potassium levels are linked to testicular cancer. Interesting because Lance Armstrong was diagnosed with testicular cancer. Someone who would lose quite a bit of sodium from sweating all the time.

Lance Armstrong won a world title in bicycle racing before his first full season as a professional. At 25, he won the World Championships, the Tour Du Pont and multiple Tour de France.

Then he found out in 1996 he had testicular cancer. His cancer then spread throughout his stomach, lungs and brain. If cancer is testicular cancer is discovered early, a man is usually given a 70% chance of survival. Because, Armstrong says he ignored warning signals, his chances of survival dropped as low as 40%.

Armstrong said in an interview in the Testicular Cancer Resource Center, he remembered thinking, “Oh my God, I’m going to die!”

“It just got so painful, I couldn’t sit on my bike anymore,” Armstrong remembered in the interview. He even coughed up blood once. “I thought if I coughed up a little blood, and if I don’t do it tommorrow, then it must not be so bad.” Armstrong didn’t give up and this year he won the Tour de France race for the second year in a row–the major race in the world for bicyclists. The race lasts 2,274 miles over , 23 day test of stamina and courage.

Armstrong got to that point by not giving up. He said he declared himself a cancer survivor, not a cancer victim. He had chemotherapy and surgury. He had a physical treatment program , a competitive spirit and a support system. He was declared cancer free.

“In 1996, two months before I was diagnosed, the illness was raging,” Armstrong said in an interview with Associated Press. He says thirty years ago, 95 percent of those who had testicular cancer died, but today 95 percent survive. “In 2000, I’m not much of a miracle,” he explained “Thirty years ago, yes it would have been a miracle.”

Armstrong also wants to help others. In 1996, he founded the Lance Armstrong Foundation. The organization provides grants and partnerships to institutions and organizations to help fight cancer. It also is active in public education about the disease.

In 1995 he established the Lance Armstrong Junior Series to promote the sport among youth. Armstrong may be a good model to young people, both for his accomplishments as an athlete and his successful fight against cancer.

August 22, 2009 Posted by | Health | , , , , | Leave a comment

Entry for February 28, 2008

I added the licorice root back for my cough yesterday and boy what a difference. It can really suppress the deep kind of cough that irriates the throat.

In fact, there’s a woman at work who also has a really bad cough and we work together so either I gave it to her or vice versa. Anyway, she was coughing constantly from the moment she came into work. I kind of wondered why she came in at all… I don’t like pushing things on people but I told her about licorice root and how fast it worked for coughing. She was willing to give it a try and she stopped coughing within minutes. She was amazed and another co-worker asked me what I gave her because she couldn’t believe how fast it worked!

Two days of 1000-1200 mg of calcium/magnesium in a 2/1 ratio and I feel much better.

August 22, 2009 Posted by | Health | , , , | Leave a comment

Entry for February 26, 2008

Started the day with a magnesium, lunch switched to calcium/magnesium, another calcium/magnesium before leaving and another calcium/magnesium at dinner. Felt so much better than yesterday. I think my problem is still potassium and yesterday I was fighting it with magnesium which doesn’t have the same relationship as calcium does. Added Chromium after reading that it can lower potassium. I skipped the lecithin today and my cold hands weren’t as bad.

I think I’ll stick to the mineral balancing instead of the herbs…

August 22, 2009 Posted by | Health | , , , , | Leave a comment

Entry for February 26, 2008

I’ve had a really bad cold with a cough for about five days now and it doesn’t really seem to be improving. In fact, my cough is a lot worse today. The only thing I’ve done differently is stopped taking the licorice root. Dr. Google?

Licorice is a perennial herb native to southern Europe, Asia and the Mediterranean. It is extensively cultivated in Russia, Spain, Iran and India, and is one of the most popular and widely consumed herbs in the world.

Although known for its flavoring in candy, it contains many health benefits. Ancient cultures on every continent have used it, the first recorded use by the Egyptians in the 3rd century BC. The Egyptians and the Greeks recognized the benefits in treating coughs and lung disease. It is the second most prescribed herb in China followed by ginseng, and is used for treatment of the spleen, liver and kidney. The Japanese use a licorice preparation to treat hepatitis.

The most common medical use is for treating upper respiratory ailments including coughs, hoarseness, sore throat, and bronchitis.

The main constituent found in the root is glycyrrhizin. The plant also contains various sugars (to 14%), starches (30%), flavonoids, saponoids, sterols, amino acids, gums, and essential oil. Glycyrrhizin, stimulates the secretion of the adrenal cortex hormone aldosterone.

It can be as effective as codeine, and safer, when used as a cough suppressant. Rhizomes in the plant have a high mucilage content which, when mixed with water or used in cough drops, sooths irritated mucous membranes. The drug also has an expectorant effect which increases the secretion of the bronchial glands. It is an effective remedy for throat irritations, lung congestion, and bronchitis.

I’ll be adding licorice root back as soon as I get home…

August 22, 2009 Posted by | Health | , | Leave a comment

Entry for February 25, 2008

In my book of nutritional healing is says not to use licorice root for more than seven days in a row because it can cause high blood pressure, water retention and low potassium levels. I’ve been taking it here and there for two weeks now so I’ll stop taking it and see what effect it has. A couple of web sites suggest 4-6 weeks and then a break. One week and 4-6 weeks is a huge difference!

When licorice root is taken daily, it is recommended that the dose does not exceed 3 grams. Use for 4-6 weeks, and have 1-2 weeks break. If taking licorice in large doses be sensitive to any of the following adverse reactions and symptoms: puffy ankles, facial swelling, shortness of breath, headaches, and general weakness. Be aware some people can be quite sensitive with any herb or drug and may have adverse reactions.

August 22, 2009 Posted by | Health | , | Leave a comment

   

