Diary of Unknown Symptoms

Mystery of the Internal Vibration

Entry for October 18, 2007


I’ve been doing so much reading about the different functions of amino acids that I’m going to try Arginine again for the immune system. I took it for the first time last month and took it until I ran out. It had a good effect on the candida so I’m going to get it again. Maybe I didn’t do it long enough.

I’m convinced that amino acids are so much more important than vitamins or minerals. They all work together of course but I find it all fascinating how each one provides a different role in the body but you never really hear anything about them.

A multivitamin doesn’t contain amino acids and yet they are so important. I can still hear my doctor telling me that all I needed was a good multivitamin and suggested Centrum. EEEK!

ARGININE (Non-Essential) L-Arginine is essential in muscle metabolism and tissue generation and regeneration. In the body it creates nitric oxide, which is an important catalyst for healthy dilation of blood vessels, circulation and blood flow. Studies have shown that Arginine improves immune responses to bacteria, viruses and tumor cells, promotes wound healing and regeneration of the liver and the release of growth hormones. Arginine is highly concentrated in the skin and connective tissue and helps keep blood-vessel tissue elastic. Arginine also helps to remove ammonia from the body as part of the urea cycle.

Arginine is gaining popularity as a treatment for high cholesterol. Studies with animals and humans suggest that it may improve coronary blood flow and lower cholesterol levels through its antioxidant properties. Arginine Pyroglutamate moves easily across the blood/brain barrier where it releases Arginine, acts as a slow release Glutamine, and increases acetylcholine.

Another amino acid that I’m interested in is Glycine. In fact Glycine is as much as one third of the amino acid content of collagen. WOW! Again, I’ve taken this before and I knew about the collagen link but 1/3?? That’s significant.

Glycine is one – third of total amino acid content of collagen followed by hydroxyproline and proline account for another one-third of amino acid content of collagen. Hydroxyproline is exclusive to collagen and due to this reason to estimate collagen normally hydroxyproline is estimation is done.

January 17, 2008 - Posted by | Health | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

