Diary of Unknown Symptoms

Mystery of the Internal Vibration

Entry for July 19, 2007


Today I started off by adding kelp to my vitamins. Similar to yesterday, I took kelp first thing in the morning and then the rest just before lunch when my hands started getting cold.

I took one 250 mg of magnesium and that seemed to work until early afternoon and I got the cold hands again. With the idea of potassium floating around in my head, I decide to purchase two bananas just to see if it had any effect…and it did. I was fine for the rest of the day.

Around dinner time, I start to feel that very mild chest pain pressure that I used to feel when my magnesium was really low. This hasn’t happened in a very long time but it makes sense because I’m taking less magnesium lately. In fact, it hasn’t happened since I discovered the zinc deficiency.

This is the one weird symptom that scares me the most so I take 250 mg of magnesium and I add one 99 mg of potassium for good measure. If this was a sign of low magnesium and I’m sure that it was, could it be a low level of potassium?

Took another 99 mg of potassium before going to bed.

Here’s my latest thesis:

If low magnesium was causing the sodium to go high then the last time I tried to add potassium was before the magnesium loss was corrected. Therefore there would be no way that I could correct the potassium imbalance as long as the magnesium loss still existed.

Magnesium activates a key enzyme in cell membranes that controls the balance of sodium and potassium. This is absolutely essential to the electrical activity of nerve cells, as well as to the very existence of a cell. If it’s sodium-potassium ratio is too far out of balance, the cell would burst.

Oh boy….here we go again…

July 19, 2007 - Posted by | Health | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

