Diary of Unknown Symptoms

Mystery of the Internal Vibration

Entry for June 10, 2007


Went to the health food store today to try some different things that I may have not thought about before. I picked up silica, collagen and kelp. I wanted the silica for the role it plays with the absorption of vitamin and minerals. I wanted kelp for the iodine in a supplement form. I wanted the collagen for my weak knees. I’ve tried MSM and Glucosamine without any effect so I wanted something different. Here’s what I found on collagen:

Collagen Supplements

Sarah Quadri, Bachelor of Science in Biomolecular Science

Oral supplementation of collagen provides a way in which the body can be provided vital amino acids and proteoglycans (specialized sugars in the body) important to maintenance of connective tissues. Currently, two main collagen supplements are being utilized—a combined collagen type I & collagen type III oral supplement and a collagen type II supplement, as these are the most abundant types in the body.Collagen type I & collagen type III are the chief collagen types in hair, skin, nails, tendons, ligaments, muscles, bones, teeth, eyes, and blood vessels. Although their presence is beneficial in joint tissues, collagen type II is the true major component of joint cartilage. Collagen type II (particularly from chicken sternal cartilage) supplies vital amino acids, hyaluronic acid, chondroitin, and glucosamine for optimal articular (joint) cartilage support.

 

June 16, 2007 - Posted by | Health | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

