Diary of Unknown Symptoms

Mystery of the Internal Vibration

Entry for May 31, 2007


1180663707-hr-1078

I keep reading about how an iron deficiency can cause a decrease in the number of red blood cells. Iron plays a central role in the hemoglobin molecule of red blood cells. So I decide to pull up my blood test from March 29, 2006.

Hemoglobin : Anything over 170 is above normal and mine is 172.
Hematocrit : Anything over 0.49 is above normal and mine is 0.51.
RBC : Anything over 5.70 is above normal and mine is 5.83.

All of my blood readings are basically normal so is it possible that I’m not low in iron? Low hematocrit and hemoglobin are a signs of an iron deficiency and mine are on the high side of normal.

So why is it working? My vibration is gone, today was the second straight day without any magnesium and although it’s subtle, I am noticing a few things and have a bit more energy. It’s weird but I can feel a slight change in the clarity of my breathing so I think the candida is slowly getting better.

Another thing I’ve noticed is the whites of my eyes don’t seem to have as many red veins. Sounds silly but I’ve really noticed a difference. There seems to be a change with my eyes but other than the white part, I can’t quite put my finger on it. And another change? This sounds weird but for a while now, and I mean years, every time I would have a bath and rub the water on my face or in my eyes, they would always, always, always be bloodshot once I got out of the bath. It’s one of those things I’ve noticed and assumed that the water was irritating my eyes. Well since I’ve started taking the iron, it doesn’t happen anymore. Weird?

Also came across this:

Copper deficiency, due to its effects on ceruloplasmin, may cause an iron-deficiency anemia which can only be corrected with copper supplementation as it impairs iron absorption, reduces heme synthesis and increases iron accumulation in storage tissues.

I’d almost be willing to bet that most women have problems with iron because of the link with estrogen and copper levels. So how can I not be low on iron if there is a link to low copper levels?

Other Mineral Interactions

If you’re slugging down iron pills but remain weak and anemic, the culprit may not be iron at all, but another metal: Copper. A new genetic find explaining why is described by a University of California, Berkeley, scientist and his colleagues in the February, 1999 issue of the journal Nature Genetics.

The researchers discovered a protein, hephaestin, that appears critical for moving iron to the bloodstream. This protein contains copper and cannot be produced in the absence of copper. Thus in some cases, having too little copper present even with an ample iron supply might cause anemia, said the lead author on the paper, Assistant Professor Christopher Vulpe of UC Berkeley’s Division of Nutrition and Toxicology in the College of Natural Resources.

Iron supplementation, with as much as 200mg of elemental iron per day, is the obvious therapy for treating and preventing the recurrence of iron deficiency anemia.

Supplemental zinc (zinc gluconate, 22mg per day) improved zinc levels but reduced iron levels in a study of 11 young women with low iron stores (plasma ferritin< 20 µg/L), but who were not yet anemic.

Vitamin A and iron supplementation had the following effect on anemic pregnant women: 35% became non-anemic with only Vitamin A. 68% became non-anemic with just iron supplementation. 97% became non-anemic after supplementation with both Vitamin A and iron.

If I do end up going to a doctor for an iron test and he agrees, he’ll probably test the hematocrit and hemoglobin as well. Could it be possible to have high levels of hematocrit and hemoglobin along with a low level of iron? Did I lower them in the year I’ve been taking supplements? Can taking iron raise the levels hematocrit and hemoglobin? So many new questions.

Stay tuned…

May 31, 2007 - Posted by | Health | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

