Diary of Unknown Symptoms

Mystery of the Internal Vibration

Entry for March 16, 2007


First day using my anti-copper vitamins. Added calcium, taurine, manganese and switched to a new multivitamin. I tweaked my zinc intake by taking 0.5 copper with 50 mg of zinc in the morning, then another 50 mg of zinc at lunchtime. There was no outbreak of candida but I’ve had better results with 1 mg of copper. So on my way home from work I thought of an idea.

Everything that I’ve read says to avoid copper intake when taking a high dosage of zinc for copper bioavailability. When I do that, I get an outbreak of candida so how about this? I’d like to try taking a homeopathic version of copper and take that with my zinc. That way, I’ll try to fool the body into thinking that it has enough copper while getting rid of the excess. I have no idea if this will work but it makes sense to me. I stop into a health food store on my way home and find a great homeopathic store and I give them my theory. She agreed that it should work so I also picked up some MSM (sulfur) and an Adrenal support supplement. I take the two new supplements with my dinner and I’ll try the homeopathic copper tomorrow.

One of the things that they suggest to get rid of the excess copper from the body is to eat sulfur foods. Amazingly, I had noticed this success without knowing why it had a positive effect on my allergies. Garlic is a food high in sulfur.

And another way to help get rid of the excess copper? By adding copper!

While it may sound odd, occasionally it is necessary to take chelated copper for a few days to relieve a copper reaction. The beneficial effect of taking copper in some people occurs because copper is needed to produce ceruloplasmin, the serum protein that binds copper. If copper becomes biologically unavailable, ceruloplasmin is not produced in sufficient quantity, provoking symptoms. The copper tablet provides bioavailable copper to stimulate ceruloplasmin synthesis. It is like priming an old-fashioned water pump – adding some water in order for the pump to work. The copper also affects the mineral balance, raising sodium and lowering potassium. This may also be necessary temporarily to relieve symptoms if the sodium/potassium ratio is low.

March 16, 2007 - Posted by | Health | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

