Diary of Unknown Symptoms

Mystery of the Internal Vibration

Entry for March 06, 2007


This morning I thought I would skip the fruit and have a cheese and broccoli croissant instead. All morning I start noticing the yellow colour of my hands against the other people at work. I keep it to myself but I’m starting to get really concerned about it. I can feel myself getting more stressed out and I am taking the homeopathic magnesium once every hour. I can feel the vibration and I get the occasional mild chest pain with cold hands and cold feet. The classic symptoms that I’ve had so many times before.

I look up the symptoms of a weak liver and jaundice is the only symptom I have. I’m still a little freaked out so I decide to go to a walk-in clinic after work. I’m feeling better by the late afternoon but I’m still going to see a doctor. I’d also like to see if I can get the doctor to agree to a zinc test.

The doctor’s office was full of coughing, pale looking children who looked like they had been waiting for hours. I seemed like the odd person out. After about an hour of waiting, I was called into the office. The doctor was a very young Chinese man and looked no more than 18 years old.

I start by explaining about the colour of my skin and how yellow it looks. I suggested that I may have a problem with my liver. He checks the whites of my eyes and doesn’t seem concerned. He asked me why I thought I had a problem with my liver. So I explain briefly that it may have been caused by ongoing magnesium deficiency. His response? And I quote: “A magnesium deficiency? What is that?” Okay, now I’m in deep trouble. I shouldn’t have mentioned it.

I explain that I’ve had a variety of symptoms over the past two years and I’ve discovered that they are all related to magnesium. I continue by saying I’ve recently suspected that it may be caused by a zinc deficiency and would like a blood test to confirm this.

He got defensive right away…His response: “First of all, I have never ordered a zinc blood test and this is not a standard test. You would have to pay for something like that. Secondly, I’m not even sure if the lab would be able to do a test like that and even if they could do the test and the results were abnormal, I wouldn’t even know how to treat it.”

He continues by asking me if I have a family doctor. I answer yes and I’ve clearly written his name and address on the patient form that he has in his hands. He said that if this problem has been ongoing for two years, then I should follow up with my family doctor. He continues by saying that my problem is beyond the scope of a walk in clinic.

Somewhat shocked but not really surprised, I tell him to forget the magnesium deficiency and the zinc test. Back to my yellow skin…

Again, he looks into my eyes and asks me to look down. He asks me if I have any other symptoms and offers some: Nausea, abdominal pain, dizziness, visited a foreign country and a few others. I said no to all of them and he doesn’t ask me anything about my diet.

He said he didn’t think I had anything to worry about but if I wanted a test, he would order one. Yes, I want the test…that’s what I came in for. He tells me that a copy of the results will be sent to my family doctor as well.

I take a look at his lab request form. He has checked off Creatinine, AST (SGOT), Alk. Phosphatase and Bilirubin. I have no idea what any of these things are so I look them up.

Creatinine

Endogenous creatinine is excreted by filtration through the glomerulus and by tubular secretion. Clinically, creatinine clearance is an acceptable measure of glomerular filtration rate but sometimes overestimates GFR. For each 50% reduction in GFR, serum creatinine approximately doubles.

Aspartate Aminotransferase (AST, SGOT, GOT)

U/LIntracellular enzyme involved in amino acid and carbohydrate metabolism. Present in large concentrations in liver, skeletal muscle, brain, red cells, and heart. Released into the bloodstream when tissue is damaged.

Alkaline Phosphatase

Alkaline phosphatases are found in liver, bone, intestine, placenta.

Bilirubin

Bilirubin, a product of hemoglobin metabolism, is conjugated in the liver to the mono- and diglucuronides and excreted in bile. Some conjugated bilirubin is bound to serum albumin, so-called D (delta) bilirubin. Elevated serum bilirubin occurs in liver disease, biliary obstruction, or hemolysis.

March 7, 2007 - Posted by | Health | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

