Diary of Unknown Symptoms

Mystery of the Internal Vibration

Entry for February 23, 2007


On my way home from work tonight, I was sitting on the GO train listening to my music and looking out the window when out of nowhere, I got this weird muscle pain in my lower back on the right hand side. It happened twice and I shifted in my seat because I thought it may be from the way I was sitting in the seat.

It didn’t happen again for the rest of the night but I mentioned it to my wife. She said usually a pain like that is related to the kidneys. Oh great…just what I need…back to googling…

From WebMD:

Symptoms of a kidney infection

Most people who have a kidney infection will have two or more of the following symptoms. Each symptom can range from mild to severe. Pain in the back just below the rib cage on one side of the body (flank pain). Flank pain occurs when a kidney is inflamed.

  • Fever or chills
  • Nausea or vomiting
  • Burning pain with urination
  • A frequent urge to urinate without being able to pass much urine (frequency)
  • Cloudy urine
  • Abdominal pain

The kidneys filter waste products from your blood and produce urine. Normally, urine is sterile, which means it does not contain bacteria. However, bacteria that are normally present in the digestive tract may cause infection if they enter the urinary tract and travel to the kidneys. When a kidney infection occurs, usually only one kidney is infected.

Okay…some interesting things here. The flank pain definitely describes my pain in the lower back. Another symptom is the cloudy urine which interestingly, I have noticed lately and I thought it was caused by the vitamins. I’m not 100% sure but I think I first noticed it a few weeks ago. I also find it interesting that a kidney infection can be caused by normal bacteria in the digestive tract. I’ve been eating a large tub of yogurt almost everyday and taking acidophilus here and there.

February 25, 2007 - Posted by | Health |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

