Diary of Unknown Symptoms

Mystery of the Internal Vibration

Entry for October 21, 2006


My doctor thinks I have anxiety. I would disagree however, I would say that my body is in a state of anxiety. I know I have these upward lines in my pupils and the iridologist was the first to mention anxiety and explain it. But nobody has mentioned that it can be caused by a B vitamin deficiency… Dr Google?

A deficiency of vitamin B6 (pyridoxine) causes extreme anxiety, nervousness, confusion, and melancholy. Vitamin B6 is easily destroyed by heavy use of alcohol, drugs and refined sugars.

A quick google search and I have the answer that I’m looking for. These doctors are so caught up in their world of drugs. If this B6 blood test comes back as extremely low then all of my problems are related a vitamin deficiency that nobody could figure out except me and doctor Google.

How embarrassing… Modern medicine is antiquated.

I’d love to order the injectable B6 vitamin from Romania and have it with me when he has the results of my blood test. I’ve been wrong before but my problem is I keep looking for the one thing that is causing my symptoms and that is my biggest problem: my symptoms are caused my a number of different deficiencies. Niacin, riboflavin, magnesium and now possibly pyridoxine?

My theory goes like this: My magnesium and B6 have been low for years and I believe that the combination low levels of B6 and magnesium caused the vibration/anxiety. Losing the B6 caused me to lose niacin and later riboflavin. Then I started taking B vitamins which helped but I was ignoring the magnesium.

Some more information:

Functions: Pyridoxine and its coenzyme form, pyridoxal-5-phosphate, have a wide variety of metabolic functions in the body, especially in amino acid metabolism and in the central nervous system, where it supports production of gamma-aminobutyric acid (GABA). Many reactions, including the conversion of tryptophan to niacinand arachidonic acid to prostaglandin E2 require vitamin B6. The pyridoxal group is important in the utilization of all food sources for energy and in facilitating the release of glycogen (stored energy) from the liver and muscles. It helps as well in antibody and red blood cell production (hemoglobin synthesis) and in the synthesis and functioning of both DNA and RNA. By helping maintain the balance of sodium and potassium in the body, vitamin B6 aids fluid balance regulation and the electrical functioning of the nerves, heart, and musculoskeletal system; B6 is needed to help maintain a normal intracellular magnesium level,which is also important for these functions. The neurotransmitters norepinephrine and acetylcholine and the allergy regulator histamine are all very important body chemicals that depend on pyridoxal-5-phosphate in their metabolism. Also, the brain needs it to convert tryptophan to serotonin, another important antidepressant neurotransmitter.

Pyridoxine is especially important in regard to protein metabolism. Many amino acid reactions depend on vitamin B6 to help in the transport of amino acids across the intestinal mucosa into the blood and from the blood into cells. By itself and with other enzymes, pyridoxal-5-phosphate helps build amino acids, break them down, and change one to another and is especially related to the production and metabolism of choline, methionine, serine, cysteine, tryptophan, and niacin.

The body has a high requirement for vitamin B6 during pregnancy. It is important for maintaining hormonal and fluid balance of the mother and for the developing nervous system of the baby. Pyridoxine may somehow be related to the development and health of the myelin covering of the nerves, which allows them to conduct impulses properly.

This is making so much sense that I feel really stupid for missing it. I shouldn’t really feel bad. It’s the doctors that are paid to figure it out, not the patient.

October 21, 2006 - Posted by | Health | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

