Diary of Unknown Symptoms

Mystery of the Internal Vibration

Entry for August 11, 2006


1155400558-hr-560

His store is called “The Medicine Shoppe” and inside is a small pharmacy on one side and a bunch of supplements and vitamins on the other. I mention to the pharmacist that the osteopath from next door recommended I speak to the owner about a health issue. I wait about ten minutes for him as he was one the phone. He has a slight look of the mad scientist in Back to the Future movies but more reserved.

He comes out to talk to me and I start by mentioning that I have a vitamin deficiency. He says he could talk for hours on vitamin deficiencies so I go into more detail with riboflavin. He asked if my urine turns yellow when I take B2 and of course it does. He said that if I am seeing yellow then the body is taking what it needs and the rest is being discarded by the body. I explain further that I’ve been taking B complex for months without any results.

He asks me if I’ve had a hormone test and yes, I’ve had one done recently and the results were normal. He said he was interested in seeing what the results were. Then he asks me if I had my thyroid checked and yes that was my doctor’s first suspicion and that too was normal. He asked me what the results were and other than normal, I’m not quite sure what the actual readig was.

He said most doctors don’t know how to check the thyroid and they only check for the level of T4. He said my actual level of T4 could be fine but that my level of T3 is needed to activate T4 and he went into more detail about thyroid function. A quick google search turns up exactly what he is talking about minus the cold body temperature:

CLINICAL MEASUREMENT:  Broda Barnes, M.D. recognized that one of the primary effects of thyroid is to raise body temperature.  A fat, hypothyroid child will be one degree Fahrenheit cooler than a thin, active child.  The measurements of thyroid function include TSH, T3 (free), T4 (free).  But normal blood tests do not tell the complete picture of thyroid disease.

The control of the thyroid gland is TRH, thyroid releasing hormone, in the hypothalamus, deep within the brain.  With age, the hypothalamus fails to release adequate stimulation: it acts like it is asleep. This is called \’down-regulation.\’  Under normal conditions, the TRH triggers the pituitary in the midbrain to release TSH, thyroid stimulating hormone. TSH causes the thyroid to produce T3 and T4 from precursors: iodine, tryptophan and T2 (di-iodothyronine).

Doctors have been taught to look for elevated levels of TSH.  This implies that the pituitary cannot recognize adequate blood levels of either T3 or T4.  A TSH over 100 means the individual is severely hypothyroid.  A TSH less than 1 (when not on thyroid replacement) implies that the individual is on thyroid replacement or that the thyroid overactive and out-of-control.

But, those of us researching thyroid disease have learned that these thyroid tests are just \’tests at best.\’  If the patient complains of a low body temperature on awakening (basal body temperature) then there is inadequate thyroid hormone no matter what the blood tests show.  If there is fatigue, dry skin, brittle hair and weight gain on a low calorie diet, then there is insufficient thyroid hormone. This is one of the thyroid resistant syndromes or thyroid insensitive syndrome. The pituitary does not respond properly and produce enough TSH.

He asks me a few questions:

Do have have any energy in the mornings? NO
Do I feel refreshed after a night’s sleep? NO
How do my muscles feel? WEAK

He suggests taking Selenium at 200 mg a day and comments how it is really lacking in today’s diet. He asks me if I am taking Omega 3 supplement. I was until the iridologst told me I didn’t need it so he asked if it contained EPA or DHA and I have no idea.

He gave me a sample package of NutraSea Omega-3 to try and said he takes it everyday. I thank him for all of the information and his time and he again mentioned that he would like to see the results of the hormone test.

I do some reading when I get home and as it turns out, on the back of the NutraSea package there is an endorsment from the homopathic doctor that the chiropractor mentioned! I want to start the day with this new omega 3 so I take a look at the one I have. The EPA or DHA is much lower in mine so I take three capsules at dinner.

So I mention all of this to my wife and we both start googling thyroid again and she mentions the simple test that the naturopath told me to do and how your morning body temperature indicates your thyroid. Back then, my body tempurature was really low. I did mention the readings to my naturopath at the time and I guess we got side tracked by other things as it was never mentioned again.

August 12, 2006 - Posted by | Health | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

