Diary of Unknown Symptoms

Mystery of the Internal Vibration

Entry for June 27, 2006


The mystery pears…

I forgot to take my acidophilus today and all day I’ve had a lot of gas after eating meals. After dinner, I take one my enzyme suppliments and that seems to work very well.

I did some research on the sigmoid tonight. Didn’t really find anything that mentioned my symptoms but I decided to go through the blog history and refresh my discoveries. One of the things that will stop the vibration is pears. Pears are mostly water and they are not really high in any vitamin or mineral but there is one thing they are high in: Dietary Fibre.

I know for a fact that I don’t eat enough fibre and I’m wondering now if the sigmoid is effected by low fibre intake.

How Much Fibre?

According to current guidelines, healthy adults should consume at least 26 grams of fibre – ideally 26 to 35 grams daily. The present Canadian fibre intake only averages 4.5 to 11 grams a day. Health Canada suggests increasing this amount by eating more grains and unpeeled (but well-washed) fruit and vegetables. Be sure to include both insoluble fibre and soluble types.

Another plus of a fibre-rich diet is that it provides plenty of vitamins and minerals, but it may be wise to consult a physician before greatly increasing dietary fibre intake and to ensure good nutritional status before making drastic alterations. Initially, eating large quantities of fibre may cause bloating, but this should subside in a few weeks. It is best to increase amounts gradually. Eating 26 grams of fibre daily may seem like a lot but can be obtained by having two fruits at breakfast-time (say a banana and raisins) with whole grain cereal, fruit as between-meal snacks, three to five servings of vegetables daily, and several bread and grain servings.

26 to 35 grams of dietary fibre daily? Even with my new lifestyle changes, there’s no way I’m having that much fibre. Could this be why I still have the vibration? So as a night time snack, I have a bowel of Fibre 1 cereal.

But if fibre is my problem, why does vitamin C make it stop? Why does a high dose of B complex make it stop? Why does tuna make it stop? Tuna doesn’t have any fibre…

June 27, 2006 - Posted by | Health | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

