Diary of Unknown Symptoms

Mystery of the Internal Vibration

Entry for June 19, 2006


When vitamin B deficiency becomes chronic (long-lasting), other problems can occur, including troubles with your adrenal system. The adrenal glands serve many purposes, but in relation to this topic, they are the back up system for making energy. When there is a chronic lack of vitamin B complex then the adrenal glands are called upon to produce quick energy by injecting certain hormones like adrenaline into your system so that you can cope with life. If this goes on for a long time, then the adrenal glands become impaired or worn out, leading to even more health problems.

The Naturopath pointed out to me for the first time that my adrenals were overworked. But despite the fact that I told her that the acidophilus stopped the weird nerve pinching in my head, a vitamin B deficiency may have been mentioned but it was decided to focus on the candida diet. I’ve looked at the adrenal symptoms before with the link to cortisol. It will be interesting to take a look at the hormone test results on July 1st.

Do You Have Adrenal Fatigue?

When the adrenal glands are not functioning optimally, you can have a condition that is known as adrenal fatigue, or adrenal exhaustion. Adrenal fatigue often develops after periods of intense or lengthy physical or emotional stress, when over stimulation if the glands leave them unable to meet your body’s needs.

Some other names for the syndrome include non-Addison’s hypoadrenia, sub-clinical hypoadrenia, hypoadrenalism, and neurasthenia.

Symptoms include:

  • excessive fatigue and exhaustion
  • non-refreshing sleep (you get sufficient hours of sleep, but wake fatigued)
  • overwhelmed by or unable to cope with stressors
  • feeling rundown or overwhelmed
  • craving salty and sweet foods
  • you feel most energetic in the evening
  • a feeling of not being restored after a full night’s sleep or having sleep disturbances
  • low stamina, slow to recover from exercise
  • slow to recover from injury, illness or stress
  • difficulty concentrating, brain fog
  • poor digestion
  • low immune function
  • food or environmental allergies
  • premenstrual syndrome or difficulties that develop during menopause
  • consistent low blood pressure
  • extreme sensitivity to cold

Six symptoms of adrenal exhaustion and I’ve had these for years. In fact, I was at the inlaws the other night. It was after ten o’clock and I felt wide awake. It’s weird but everytime I’ve been at their house until late, I’ve always felt very tired and my wife’s mother always made a comment on it. Even though I’m still lacking in the B vitamins, there was definately a difference on that night and I think it was because of the vitamins.

And another story that I remember. I’d say about ten years ago I was working a security job in an office building. A nothing type job really as I spent most of my time reading the paper. But there was one day that I recall waking up and I felt refreshed and not tired at all. I don’t know what happened or what I ate, but I still remember the great feeling when I woke up. I’ve never been able to have that same feeling since and now I’m thinking it was probably a B deficiency. I’ve always had a non-refreshing type sleep. I was getting sufficient hours of sleep, but I woke fatigued. I have no clue why it was so different on that one particular morning.

Here’s another one. My wife and I went to visit her grandmother in the hospital last summer. There had been a fire alarm so the elevators were not in service. My wife at this point was about seven months pregnant and we had to get to the fifth floor. After the second floor I was so tired and exhausted my wife was ahead of me and she made the joke that a pregnant women of seven months could do better than me. I even had to stop for a little rest a few times. We made it to the fifth floor but man was I worn out. For some reason, I just accepted this as normal and thought I needed to get more sleep an or exercise.

And actually, I’ve always had a very hard time getting up in the mornings. I’ve even made jokes about it at work. I could never work any shift other than the 9-5 because getting to work any earlier than that would kill me.

June 19, 2006 - Posted by | Health | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

